The Thrill of the Roller Coaster

The Too Fun CrewWhen I was young I didn’t have the best relationship with amusement parks. The first and only time I went to Disney with the family, my brother excitedly ran off with the kid money for food and water, and my sister and I dragged ourselves through the park, famished and dehydrated for hours before finally meeting back up with the family again. (This was before cell phones–some of us will remember the old days!)Then there was a big family argument amidst sweat, tears, and almost blood. Needless to say, I haven’t been back to Disney since.

When I was a senior in high school I went to Six Flags with some peers, but unfortunately there was weird drama going on that made it a little less than exciting. Well, since becoming full grown, I’ve fallen in love with roller coasters! So when I had an opportunity to go to London’s Thorpe Park, I jumped at the chance. Had a great time and stretched myself by riding all the biggies (roller coasters, that is). I screamed and screamed till I was hoarse. We walked and stood till we felt downright arthritic, but it was well worth it. I got to taste famous fish and chips for the first time, too. Pretty good… fish and chips People watching was fun as well. The wardrobe choices, hairstyles, and ethnic mix were interesting. There were women in full burkas (black head to toe covering), something not as commonly seen in the U.S. Anyway, on to Disney! (eventually)

Leave a Reply

