By woods and lake

on

Movin On Up

Father opened a door for me to move IMG_0458to a place closer to my work and off post just a couple weeks after coming to Germany. The name of the little town I live in is Eschenbach. Its downtown looks like a typical German village with sturdy, well built buildings, a church that rings its bell every hour, hilly streets, and bakeries on every corner it seems. The Germans love their bread, it seems, almost as much as their beer.

IMG_0440

My place is a studio inside a house with two other studios inside.  I live right across from a lake, and the driveway leading up to the house is woodsy and quiet, a perfect fit for my personality.

This space has served as a refuge for me. I enjoy coming home to the refreshing green and crème color scheme, and I sometimes buy fresh flowers to jazz it up even more. I  do Pilates stretching on the floor, snuggle up on the bed to read my books, and sit in my  comfy chair to work on the computer.IMG_0442

I can cook at this place, so I have bought interesting foods just to try them out. The problem we often have is we can’t read the recipes and sometimes don’t know exactly what we are buying. I tried fruit flavored buttermilk and loved it! I also love the way field greens look on a salad. I tasted Brathering (Brat-herring fish) and though my friends turned their noses up, it reminded me of really tasty sardines. Sorry, no picture of those critters!

IMG_0450

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Fartema M. Fagin says:

    Tabi, so happy for you! You’re the most adventurous person that I know next to my sister. She was stationed in Frankfurt, Germany for years which gave me the opportunity to experience the country. I hope to visit the country again one day.

  2. tabiupton says:

    Hey lady! Oh, that is awesome. When did you come? What did you think? I haven’t been to Frankfurt.

  3. Jerilyn says:

    Hmmm… thumbs down to fruit-flavored buttermilk & fish brats, but 2 thumbs up on your new place. Your description of the little town brings back memories. I wish we had more church bells & bakeries here.

  4. Zephanie Flippin says:

    OH TABI…..so glad for this post. Been thinking about you. Your new spot looks great! So does your salad! I don’t know about that butter milk tho. :-/ Hope you continue to enjoy and take in every minute!

  5. Cheryl McGary says:

    I love the way you describe the new town. I can hear the bells and smell the bread. Thanks for posting this blog. It is refreshing to travel with you as our 6 precious kids sleep peacefully.

Leave a Reply

