Germany -Week 2.5

on

“Home is now behind you; The world is ahead…” The Hobbit

Grateful

I can’t believe its been two and a half weeks since I arrived in Deutschland. I miss my “hobbit-hole”, but I can return there after my adventures.

Image
Me with half my nieces and nephews…

My mind is waking up to the amazing gift I have been given in being able to work overseas (and travel whenever possible!) I can’t say a ton about my job, but I do work with children and they are like little radiant lights of laughter, innocence, and delight. I was dubious at first, but now I appreciate God’s wisdom in it. I needed more children in my life. I don’t live near my nieces and nephews, and its so fun to interact with these kids regularly.

I tell you what, I am beyond grateful for the waves of love I feel from home. I have been homesick, sleep-deprived, and cold, but that is lifting off me now. I just received a care package from a dear friend that has delighted my heart. It was full of things to write on, pretty accessories to wear, and a card that made me feel special. Shout outs to my family, life group, co-workers, and friends who pray for me regularly! I could not have done this without your support.  Goodies from home!

Goodies from home!

It has been rainy and cloudy most of the time so far, an unusual winter I hear. Normally snow is on the ground by now. I am in the process of planning some day trips and hope to take in fun sights very soon.

Reflections on the Culture

Let me say that the Germans I’ve encountered have been generally friendly and helpful, especially if you attempt to begin your conversation in German (thanks www.duolingo.com, where I study German online). Almost all Germans can speak English, but you have to remember its their country, so I think they just don’t appreciate being expected to speak in English just because we Americans haven’t bothered to learn German. However, while sitting in a deli with a colleague, one older gentleman approached and asked us if we were Americans. He then sat down with us and chatted, even hugged me when I said “I like Germany” in very bad German. I was so pleasantly surprised at how open he was (I had been told not to expect that type of friendliness) that I didn’t clue into the fact that he may have been a little TOO friendly… until I felt his hand on my thigh–oh my! I was not ready for that one. But it was an interesting interaction, nonetheless.

I think Bavaria is like the South of the U.S. for Germans. There are lots of forests and fields, cozy neighborhoods, walking trails, and more churches than I expected. Germany is a very efficient and tidy country. People recycle ALL trash, as its built into the system. The food is fresh and often organic. The restaurants have fun décor. And you can buy all types of inexpensive clothes and household items–I bought snow pants for 10 euro– they even have EURO Stores like our Dollar Stores. So, I went looking for shoes the other day because, well, you’ll find out why.

Granddaddy Shoes

I entered a shoe store and told the saleswoman I needed cheap tennis shoes AND I had big feet. (Yes I did.) When I told her what size, she told me I would need a man’s shoe. I thought, “Wow, same as in the U.S.” She pulled out some granddaddy looking shoes for me that had Velcro snaps…hmmm.

“How much?” I asked. “25 euro.” she explained. I was happy–I haven’t gotten paid yet and I’m on a budget. I double checked the style. “Ok, but do people wear those, snaps, over here?”

Because in the States my friends would laugh at me in front of my back for wearing them. You know who you are!

“Oh yes,” she answered. “Lots of people do.” I decided to trust her.

“Ok…cause I really do need to buy some more sneakers. My other ones…well, a cat, katze, you know? urinated on them. And they smell bad.”

“Ohh,” she said, tossing her head back and stifling a laugh. “I understand. That’s very bad.”

My mother is a witness, I washed those sneakers at least 3x and they still smell very strange, so I had to do something. I won’t throw them out though because they’re awesome New Balances and feel like heaven on my feet.

Anywho, voila my new finds!What do you think?

 What do you think?
12 Comments Add yours

  1. justCaprice says:

    Die Schuhe sind praktisch. Sie sind schön genug, um Großvater Tennisschuhe tragen, wenn Sie müssen. Beten, dass Gott weiterhin segnen und behüten. justCaprice

    1. tabiupton says:

      Excuse me, what did u say??? :)))I guess I do need to practice…you go girl.

  2. Sherry says:

    Hi, Tabi. It’s Bern’s Aunt Sherry. Loving keeping up with your adventures!

    1. tabiupton says:

      Hey Aunt Sherry! Thanks for following me.

  3. Zephanie Flippin says:

    Hey “Tobey” !

    Good to hear from you on your blog again. I think your shoes are cute. You did the best you could with what you had with where you are. LOL! Miss you too. Hey, send me your address for where you are. Do you check your email over there? Can you text at all? what about an international phone plan? I am praying for you too. 🙂 Hope the homesickness wears off even more. 🙂
    “Stephanie”

    1. tabiupton says:

      Believe it or not I just moved and don’t have the address yet. I am able to make calls to the US in this new place.I will be blogging about it soon. God is sooo good. I can check email, text thru Skype and you call me on Skype at 423 509 8760. I am feeling much less homesick, thank you so much.

  4. Jerilyn Sanders says:

    Miss ya, Girl!

    I’m with Zeph – you gotta do what you gotta do. (But, I would ask around for some other shoe stores next payday.) What about shopping online? What’s Germany’s equivalent to Amazon?

    1. tabiupton says:

      I’m not sure, but I think I’ll just go with this for awhile..:)Could be worse.

  5. Jill Green says:

    Hey! So glad to hear you are settling in and feel joy and optimism in this new experience! Your shoes cracked me up because I can totally relate. Those babies have nothing on SAS shoes for a year so just wear them loud and proud 😉 Praying for you and wishing you a great experience every day. Love ya!

    1. tabiupton says:

      I am wearing my daddy shoes! love you

  6. Pauline McLemore says:

    Those tennis shoes are MUCH more fashionable than the post surgery boots you wore for months. I say I like ’em! We miss you every day at CBI!!

  7. tonya says:

    Like ur shoes Heather is kind of out there . She thinks I’m emotional train reck and tried to put me away. I just had a lot on my plate at one time and it took time to sort out but it will work out its out some how. Hope ur having a great time

Leave a Reply

